NEW MUSIC: Ozzy Osboune “Patient Number 9”

Hear the epic title track to Ozzy Osbourne’s new album, and peruse the star-studded list of guest collaborators.

Ozzy Osbourne told us how fruitful his work with producer Andrew Watt was around the time of Ordinary Man. Pandemic downtime kept them in touch and working since Ozzy was unable to tour – not just because of coronavirus but also Ozzy’s other maladies such as Parkinson’s and injuries related to past falls. Now we finally get to hear the some of the results.

The title track, featuring British guitar legend Jeff Beck – whose career even predates Black Sabbath – reminds me a bit of “Diary Of A Madman” with its haunting guitar intro before seguing into Ozzy’s trademark heavy rock. Comic Book great Todd McFarlane directed the video.

For the backing band, most of the album will feature longtime Ozzy collaborator Zakk Wylde on guitar. Ozzy welcomes back bassist Robert Trujillo, who played with Ozzy during the mid-90’s prior to joining Metallica. And Chad Smith of the Red Hot Chili Peppers handles drum duties.

But there will also be a TON of guest appearances from every era of hard rock.

Eric Clapton
Mike McCready (Pearl Jam)
Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses)
Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction)
Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath)
Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters)

This will mark Ozzy and Tony Iommi’s first colloaboration outside of Black Sabbath! And of course, Taylor Hawkins is no longer with us so his performance will be rather bittersweet.

Patient Number 9 drops September 9th.